Career · Online Teaching

Turning Challenges Into Stepping Stones: BCC Premium Tutor Application

Hello there! Today, I’ll be talking about an opportunity that will take your career up a notch as an online tutor so keep reading to know more.

Rarejob has recently launched its new BCC (Business Conversation Course) Program last March and since then, it has been receiving an enormous number of positive feedback from our students. I am honored to be part of this premium service being offered to our students who wish to enhance their Business English skills further.

For some, it may be intimidating to apply as BCC Premium tutor because of the following reasons that I will tackle one by one in this post. I would like to reach out to those individuals who have expressed their intention to join but may have some reservations to proceed with their application.

Below are some of the most common challenges that I hear from my co-tutors, and here’s how I think we can turn those into stepping stones (and hopefully, into cash):

CHALLENGE #1: I don’t have any business background. OR This is my first job, and I didn’t have any experience working in the corporate setting.

It’s totally fine! Though having a corporate background can really be advantageous, it’s not an actual requirement. We are already living in an age where the accessibility of information is just one click of a mouse away. The good thing about BCC materials is that tutor scripts are already provided together with the lesson flow that you can follow. The first few lessons might be nerve-wracking but after a few days, you’ll soon get the hang of it. Trust me. I’ve been there. I was sweating profusely during my first few lessons lalo na yung palms ko kahit nakatutok na sakin yung electric fan. As a tip, be sure to do your homework: to study the materials and prepare in advance.

Tip: If you encounter a business jargon in the material while conducting the lesson and you entirely don’t have an idea about it, first try to google it fast! But if Google is causing more confusion than clarifying the term, then honesty is the way to go. Be honest. Tell your student that the term is also unfamiliar to you and you’ll get back to him with an answer (and please do so). Deliver what you promise. However, this should be used in moderation. Use with caution and only in situations that will require you to do so. In my experience, most students are understanding and considerate. It’s better to tell the truth than give them the wrong information.

CHALLENGE #2: The students might be too strict, serious, scary…*insert more nega assumptions here*

If you’ve had a job before be it part-time, freelance or full-time, chances are that you have encountered a difficult co-worker, a demanding boss, or an irate customer. As a student, we all have that one lousy group-mate who had the audacity to brag about receiving high grades, when in fact he/she didn’t contribute anything to the project.

Even at the very comforts of our home, some of us may have to deal with annoying siblings or inconsiderate neighbors. So what am I trying to say? Well, you have already dealt with these kinds of people in flesh even before you became an RJ tutor, so what difference does it make? Have no fear brothers and sisters. You’ve been trained for this!

CHALLENGE #3: I don’t think I can comply with the monthly 204-code limit.

When you apply for a job, do you immediately worry about the deadlines you’ll miss or the possibility of performing inadequately if in case you get accepted? Normally we don’t. We envision ourselves doing well at work, getting promoted, and receiving a higher salary.  Yung tipong nasa interview ka pa lang pero nabuo na sa isip mo yung future mo with the company.

Anyway, the bottom line is, cross the bridge when you get there. Everything we do will entail a certain level of risk. It’s up to you to weigh the pros and cons. But if the benefit is greater than the risk, would you still let this opportunity slip by just because you were so worried of something that hasn’t even happened yet? The worst case scenario is that you’ll be removed from the BCC program, but you can still teach as a General English Tutor.

Tip: If in case, there’s a power outage, or a sudden internet connection trouble that will result to having high 204 codes, try to get as much proof or evidences as possible: screenshots, e-mail correspondence with your internet service provider/ Meralco, photos of men cutting wires sa poste na malapit sayo etc.. It’s not an assurance that all your 204 codes will be nullified or “excused” but it pays to be prepared. 

CHALLENGE #4: I’m afraid to fail. 

This fear stems from the kind of education system and society we grew up in, where results matter more than the process itself. I’d like to believe that both have equal importance since we aren’t born experts and it’ll take more than one fall for a toddler to successfully learn walking. Same goes with life. In reality, failure is an important ingredient to achieving victory. Without it, we wouldn’t be able to appreciate the value of success. So, when I am confronted with this dilemma, I always think of the worst thing that could happen if I fail. If it wouldn’t kill me, then I guess it’s worth taking the shot.

At least nag-try ka, kung fail edi, improve. If naka-pasa, edi yehey! Got no time for drama, ’cause it can’t pay the bills yo!

CHALLENGE #5: I already applied before but failed. Can I still re-apply?

Yes! For the GE or initial demo lesson, you can retake after 3-6months. If you already reached the certification part, you may retake it for as many times as you like according to my coach. I also didn’t pass the BCC certification demo the first time I took it. I tried the second time and fortunately succeeded.

I’d like to share to you a part of the lyrics of one of my favorite songs, Try Again by Aaliyah which goes like this:

If at first you don’t succeed
Dust yourself off and try it again
You can dust it off and try again  ♥♥

CHALLENGE #6: I’m not sure if I can conduct a class in a professional manner. 

In my personal opinion, it’s quite tiring to smile and be jolly with all your lessons (unless you’re as hyper as Tutor Case.C. Hi mars!) especially if you’re on 100% video and working 10-12 hours in a day. Well, what I love about being a BCC premium tutor is that I can just put on a collared top, tie my hair in a bun and use my bedroom voice (with minimal smiling and gestures) to look and sound professional in my lessons. By doing those, I am able to conserve my energy and use it in classes that would require me to do so (e.g. classes with kids, trial lessons, etc.). If I can do it, so can you! Fight!

CHALLENGE #7: Is it worth the effort and time?

Depending on your goal, you may see this offer as a window of opportunity to propel you towards your goal, be it financially, or for self-improvement. Like I said, it may be difficult at first but you’ll get accustomed to it eventually. The training wouldn’t take so much time too. Aside from that, you will also be assigned to a BCC buddy or coach who will guide you all through out the process.

Again, begin with an end in mind. Start with a goal. Have you heard of the law of attraction? It says that once you put your mind onto something, the universe conspires to make it happen. When you are constantly reminded of what you want in life, your energy, your aura will naturally empower people and the circumstances around you to shape your life the way you wanted it to be. Proven or not, I would rather take my chances fighting for my goal than doubting myself. There is already much negativity going around, so the least you can do is to do yourself a favor and follow what Peter Pan said to Wendy: think happy thoughts.

So the real question is, are your dreams worth the effort and time?

CHALLENGE #8: I’m too lazy to study new materials.

In Stephen Covey’s book on 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, he mentioned the 7th habit which is to sharpen the saw. You are your greatest asset. When you invest in your education, you expand your perspective. You gain new knowledge and practices that can eventually help you handle bigger challenges. Every learning adds value to you which can translate to getting higher pay or qualifying for greater opportunities ahead.

CHALLENGE #9: I will miss my regular, loyal students. 

As a BCC premium tutor, if you open your 5:00 am – 8:00 am and 6:00 pm to 12:00 mn slots, they will be all placed under the 205 coding system to prioritize BCC students. This means that if you have regular, loyal students taking your classes during those time, it will be very difficult for them to book your lessons. For possessive tutors like me, this can be heart-breaking. But looking on the bright side, sabi nga nila, hindi naman tayo nagsasakripisyo para sa wala di ba. We often sacrifice for a greater cause like what we do when we leave our current job, family and friends because of a better offer some place else. Life goes on. One of my students told me that I shouldn’t burden myself with the thought of leaving my regular, loyal students behind (lalo na yung hindi naglelesson kasi inaantay ka nila mag-open ng slot). She said if they really want to learn English, they will eventually find a new tutor.

To make it easier for my students, I recommend the GTA (Good Tutor Award) recipients to them. By the way, that was how I met Tutor Case.C who has become one of my closest friends in Rarejob. One of my gems requested me to refer good tutors since he’s having a hard time booking my classes. Syempre loyal student yun, edi nirecommend ko yung alam kong hindi ako mapapahiya. Then Case.C contacted me to thank me and the rest is history. Now I have my own group of friends too. Dati-rati naiinggit ako kasi parang may clan yung ibang tutors sa gatherings habang ako nasa isang tabi, cold and alone. Who would have thought that this simple gesture would lead me to my NFFs (new found friends). Nuuuuxxxx!

Your students will actually thank you for that. You’re even helping them widen their perspective and expand their network by meeting other tutors as well. Now, you can peacefully sleep at night knowing that your gems are in good hands.


So there goes my personal insights to some common challenges of BCC tutor aspirants. I hope I was able to shed light to your concerns in reconsidering the opportunity presented to you. This program has helped me in so many ways I never imagined it would, and so as my co-BCC tutors sharing their testimonials in this info-graphic made by Rarejob:

BCC Premium Tutor Application Rarejob

Interested? You may send your tutor nickname, tutor ID number and contact number to me by filling up my contact form through this link.

To those who are looking for another source of income, it’s not yet too late to be part of our growing family! You may check out my previous post about the 5 reasons why you should join Rarejob to help you decide.

May all your dreams come true! Good luck! 

10 thoughts on “Turning Challenges Into Stepping Stones: BCC Premium Tutor Application

  1. Superb post sis! Worth-sharing ulet! Thanks for taking the time to do this for the many potential BCC Premium Tutors among our fellow-tutors. How do you find time to do this? 😀 Planning to write a post naman on how to ace the demo lesson. 😀

    Like

    1. Thank you sis! Very supportive mo! 🙂 Push! I’m just so grateful to be part of this family that I wanted others to see that this can be an actual career which can help them achieve their dreams.

      Like

    1. Yes sis 🙂 Pero hindi ka naman talo since mas tataas yung likelihood na mabook ka ng BCC students under 205 codes, kapag hindi naman nabook, paid yung closed 205 slots mo ng regular rate.

      Like

  2. This guide is very helpful for aspiring tutors like. Keep on dazzling, dear co-tutor! You are one of the reasons why RareJob continues to prosper even now. I hope that I can become as dedicated as you are. ^_^

    Like

    1. Thank you Gracelyn for such kind words. That really is my mission: to inspire and show tutors that this can be a viable source of income, fulfillment and growth. Hope to meet you soon! ❤

      Like

  3. Thanks KC for sharing Ulrike’s blog. Greatest fear is (or somehow ‘was’ na sya after reading this hahaha) my intermittent internet connection. As I have told you, I am afraid my internet connection may not be able to support the BCC lessons…

    And oh the last part. I also have the fear of loosing few (as in few lang naman sila hahaha) of my loyal students.

    Like

    1. Hi Tutor Rona! If you can have video lessons with regular students without trouble, I’m quite sure it can also support BCC lessons. Basically, the flow of lesson is just the same, material lang yung naiba and of course since we are paid higher, stricter sila with attendance.

      As for your fear of losing students, I believe you’ll be able to gain more loyal students. Tutor KC just recently became a BCC tutor and she was surprised that her previous loyal students were BCC students na pala. Now, they can easily book the lesson slots of KC 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

