Investing

An Update on my Stock Investments

We just celebrated Chinese New Year and many are enthusiastically looking forward to a more prosperous year of the Fire Rooster! However for some people, things in the Philippine Stock Market aren’t as promising as the Feng Shui predictions at the start of this year. I usually check my portfolio once or twice a month and it’s been tinted red for a few months now.

As I previously mentioned, I started investing in the Stock Market last November 2015. I committed to allot 15% of my salary to grow my portfolio every month. To my mind, I just can’t simply rely on the government’s pension for the kind of lifestyle I want to achieve or maintain when I retire. I figured that I’ll have a better shot investing my money on equities to beat off inflation rates in the long run compared to a regular savings account.

This may sound absurd to some since the stock market is viewed as a very volatile place to put one’s money in and the risks involved are almost tantamount to its benefits or even more. However, some financial experts would argue that no one really loses money in investing and that people lose money in gambling. If one does his/her homework of understanding the stock market, such risks can be minimized. But who has time for that right? This is where mentors come into the picture. We don’t have to do it alone. Right now, the internet is the biggest source of information that we can take advantage of. I believe we can achieve our financial goals with proper guidance from experts.

In my case, I invest via COL Financial which is an online stock-brokerage firm and I subscribe to Bo Sanchez’s TrulyRichClub where I get recommendations on what company stocks to buy, when to sell them, etc.

So far, this is currently what my portfolio looks like after more than a year of investing:

2017

It doesn’t really look appealing right now and many would panic at the sight of this color in their portfolio. But honestly speaking, I don’t have any ounce of distress or anxiety with what is happening to the stock market right now. It’s because I’m a long-term investor. As a long-term investor, we invest if there is good value as Bo Sanchez would repeatedly tell us in his talks. We only buy shares from giant companies. For someone like me who doesn’t have an in-depth knowledge and skills, going for penny stocks is a sure way to lose my hard-earned money. But one thing I know for sure is that I want to be financially free in my 30’s.

Often, there is no correlation between the success of a company’s operations and the success of its stock over a few months or even a few years. In the long term, there is a 100 percent correlation between the success of the company and the success of its stock. This disparity is the key to making money; it pays to be patient, and to own successful companies. – Peter Lynch

One of my tutor friends asked me if now is a good time to start investing. I said yes without batting an eyelash. Why? Just imagine Meralco, Cebu Pacific, Ayala, BDO and all other big companies’ stocks are on sale! This is the kind of shopping spree I’d go for.

But before diving in to the stock market, make sure that you are fully aware of what you’re getting into. Know your objective, your risk profile and find a credible mentor who will walk you through the path of investing.

To end, I’d like to share my investing goals for 2017:

  • Continue investing on equities
  • Venture into mutual fund to further diversify my portfolio
  • Attend at least 1-2 major financial events
  • Create a new stream of income

How about you? What are your financial goals for this year? I’d love to hear them too. May you have a prosperous year ahead! Kung Hei Fat Choi! ❤

Important note: I am no expert in this field. The majority of what I know comes from my personal research, and consultations with various financial advisers. Feel free to speak and schedule an appointment with a licensed financial adviser should you have any interest in growing your finances.
Leave a Reply

